Skip to main content

Feehan Memorial:

Databases & Reference

Search for articles

EBSCO Search
Limit Your Results :

This EBSCO box searches all of the below databases:
Academic Search Complete,
ATLA Religion Database with Serials, ATLA Catholic Periodical Literature,
ATLA Serials Religion Collection
Old and New Testament Abstracts, L'Annee Philogique, and Philosopher's Index with Full Text.

Google Scholar
 

Google Scholar indexes scholarly literature, and for many journals links the user directly to an article. Integrated with FindIt@USML  online access.

Streaming Video Collection

The Alexander Street Video Databases offer access to streaming video across a wide variety of subjects and disciplines. Users can create playlists of whole videos, film clips, and Web content that can be saved and shared. Videos can be viewed alongside synchronized transcripts and can be downloaded to Apple or Android phone (good for 48 hours).

American History in Video
Historical newsreels, archival footage, and important documentaries from A&E History Channel, CBS, PBS, United Pictures Company, and others.

Art and Architecture in Video
Over 500 hours of video documentaries and interviews illustrating the theory and practice of a variety of art forms and providing the context necessary for critical analysis. Includes the Sister Wendy Beckett art series.

Classical Music in Video
Contains 900 hours of classical music from 1,600 performances and masterclasses captured on video. All forms of classical music, including major orchestral performances by leading orchestras, plus chamber music, oratorio, and solos.

Counseling and Therapy in Video
Over 350 films from the fields of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. Video footage from actual therapy sessions, training videos, lectures, and reenactments. Encompasses an array of therapeutic methods, diagnoses, and cultural groups.

World History in Video
The video world history content offered here is truly global in scope, covering Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania.

Theatre in Video
More than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors

Gallery of Theology Collections

Resource Collections & eBooks

Biblia Clerus
Full-text multilingual Catholic bible, commentaries, canon law, liturgical resources and magisterial sources.

Corpus Thomisticum
Provides a bibliography of Aquinas studies and an index of Thomistic research

Early Church Fathers Series

Digital Karl Barth Library

Salem Literature Critical Insights
Literary reference works of Albert Camus, Flannery O'Conner, Willa Cather, and The Inferno by Dante

Twentieth Century Religious Thought
Collection of religious thinkers, including von Balhtasar, Bonhoeffer, de Lubac and Guiterrez.

List of Library Database & Reference Resources

A
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Multi-disciplinary database provides full-text of more than 9,000 journals, including full-text for nearly 7,850 peer-reviewed titles. Within EBSCO you can click on Choose Database and select additional databases for your search.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials
Combines the premier index to journal articles, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. Provides full text access to over 380,000 electronic articles and book reviews.

ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index
Provides indexing of periodicals, church documents, papal documents and essay collections addressing the practice and intellectual tradition of Roman Catholicism. Also provides full text access to materials.

B
BibleWorks 9
Provides access to biblical texts in Hebrew and Greek, facsimiles of selected original manuscripts, polyglot translations, commentaries, and reference works. Available on workstations in the Library. For more information contact the Library staff.

Brepols Index Religiosus
The Index Religiousus is the international bibliography of theology, religious studies, and church history. Also found on this site is the Dictionnaire d'histoire et de geographie ecclesiastiques, the Dictionary of Ecclesiastical History and Geography.

D
Digital Karl Barth Library
Searchable database containing the works of Karl Barth, including theological writings, letters, sermons, interviews, and archival content from Alexander Street Press.

Digital Vatican Library
The Digital Vatican Library is the product of the Vatican Library's project to digitize its entire collection of manuscripts contained in 80,000 codices mostly from the Middle Ages and Humanistic periods. The Library, which initiated the project in 2010, expects that over several decades a total of 40 million images will be available to scholars.

 

E
Elenchus of Biblica
Elenchus of Biblica is a broad, comprehensive, international, ecumenical, annual listing of books, dissertations, reviews, and articles on the Hebrew Bible, New Testament, intertestamental Judaism, the early patristic period, biblical theology, archeology, and other related topics. For each biblical book, general works are listed first, followed by topical items, followed by items dealing with individual passages. While it is the most extensive bibliography for biblical studies, it is usually several years behind in its coverage of literature.

Encyclopedia of the Bible and Its Reception (Online)
EBR is the first comprehensive encyclopedia of biblical reception and contains Hebrew Bible/Old Testament, New Testament and historical contexts. The online edition currently contains the volumes 1–12, which allow for topic searches of A thru M. EBR is updated quarterly.

I
Index Theologicus (IxTheo)
Index of articles in theological journals and essays in selected books dating back to 1984. Journals are indexed within 24 hours of the time they are received at the Tübingen University library achieving a very current database. Available through a German or English language interface.

L
L'Année philologique
L'Année philologique (The Year in Philology) is the standard bibliographical tool for research related to the language, literature, history and culture of the Greco-Roman World. L'Année philologique Online is an index, it does not contain full-text of the articles that are indexed. L'Année philologique Online covers volume years 1924 through 2009; indexing often lags publication by two or three years. It is possible to search abstracts of articles for keywords or subject terms.

Library of Latin Texts
Brepols LLT is the world’s leading database for Latin texts. It contains texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965). The texts have been taken from the Corpus Christianorum series and from many other leading editions.

N
New Testament Abstracts
An indispensable research and bibliographic aid for scholars, librarians, clergy and students of the New Testament.

Historical Editions to the Greek New Testament online
Online access to Greek New Testaments from Erasmus thru the 19th century.

O
Old Testament Abstracts
Features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author words, and software related to Old Testament studies.

P
Philosopher's Index Full Text
Current and comprehensive bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy.

T
Twentieth Century Religious Thought
Multivolume, cross-searchable online collection of publications and archival materials related to key worldwide religious thinkers from the early 1900s until the turn of the 21st century. Includes von Balthasar, Bonhoeffer, de Lubac and Guiterrez.

W
Wabash Center Internet Guide to Religion
Comprehensive index of online religious educational material, sacred literature, world religions, and historical figures